on air now

OFFICIAL | Australia’s Test squad: Darren Lehmann nailed it

The Australian squad for the first two Tests against India has been named.

The series will get underway at the Adelaide Oval on December 6, before moving to Perth on December 14.

Former Australian coach Darren Lehmann earlier named his starting eleven for the first Test of the summer against India on Macquarie Sports Radio.

Lehmann says he’s been keeping a close eye on the Sheffield Shield and believes this is the best team to take on the Indians.

Boof’s Australian XI: 

Aaron Finch (Vic): “Play him at the top of the order and let’s see how he goes.”

Marcus Harris (Vic): “In the mould of Justin Langer, he is very expansive. Has had a big shield season.”

Usman Khawaja (QLD): “He has been so good at three for me in Australia.” 

Shaun Marsh (WA): “His record in Australia has been outstanding.” 

If Ravi Jadeja plays -Travis Head (SA): “I don’t mind having so many left handers if Jadeja plays.” 

If Ravi Ashwin plays – Peter Handscomb (Vic): “Need a right hander, if Ashwin plays you can’t have too many left handers. Scored a hundred last week.”

Mitch Marsh (WA): “Very good hundred against Queensland. Needs to perform no doubt. He starts the summer.

Tim Paine (Tas) (c): “Tim picks himself, he is the captain, and rightly so. He plays and is the wicketkeeper.”

Pat Cummins (NSW)

Mitch Starc (NSW)

Nathan Lyon (NSW)

Josh Hazlewood (NSW)

“The bowlers pick themselves, our bowling is really strong so we play Pat, Mitch, Nathan and Josh Hazlewood.” 

Other members of Boof’s squad: Peter Siddle (Vic), Dan Worall (SA), Jackson Bird (Tas), Chris Tremain (Vic), Scott Boland (Vic)

And here’s the official squad

The official squad

Pat Cummins (New South Wales), Aaron Finch (Victoria), Peter Handscomb (Victoria), Marcus Harris (Victoria), Josh Hazlewood (VC – New South Wales), Travis Head (South Australia), Usman Khawaja (Queensland), Nathan Lyon (New South Wales), Mitch Marsh (VC – Western Australia), Shaun Marsh (Western Australia), Tim Paine (C – Tasmania), Peter Siddle (Victoria), Mitchell Starc (New South Wales), Chris Tremain (Victoria)

Good job Boof!

Listen to Darren Lehmann discuss his XI for the first test against India

You can hear Darren Lehmann on Macquarie Sports Radio Summer of Cricket