on air now

‘A move might be the best thing for him’: Ex-Pie thinks former teammate needs fresh start

Former Collingwood Premiership player Travis Cloke believes the time is right for Alex Fasolo to get out of Collingwood and restart his career at Carlton after speculation the crafty Pie could be on the move.

Speaking ahead of his EJ Whitten debut on August 31st at the Adelaide Oval, Cloke was also asked his thoughts on what his good mate Alex Fasolo should do next season, after reports had linked him to a move to Carlton.

“He needs to get out of the bubble of that one football club. It can be nice, and it can be refreshing. If he goes to a big power club he will be stuck in the same bubble.” Cloke told Macquarie Sports Radio Melbourne Breakfast. 

Cloke believes that Fasolo still has what it takes to make a significant impact at the highest level.

“Faz is a guy who plays on flare and enthusiasm and needs to have a bit of fun, I think he just needs to find that again and he will be a very good asset for any club.”

Cloke knows all about fresh starts having left Collingwood at the end of the 2016 season to join the Western Bulldogs before calling time on his 256 game career at the end of 2017.

The EJ Whitten Legends game will take place on Friday 31st of August 2018 at the Adelaide Oval. 


Full squads for the 2018 Chemist Warehouse EJ Whitten Legends Game listed below:

Victoria Squad List
Coach: Terry Wallace
Captain: Brad Johnson
Adem Yze
Anthony Koutoufides
Austinn Jones
Ben Johnson
Brad Johnson
Brett Montgomery
Campbell Brown
Chris Johnson
Daniel Giansiracusa
Daniel Harford
Drew Petrie
Dustin Fletcher
Jason Johnson
Jess Sinclair
Joel Smith
Josh Gibson
Jude Bolton
Luke Power
Mark Graham
Matthew Lappin
Matthew Primus
Paul Dimattina
Ted Richards
Tony Brown
Travis Cloke
Tom Lonergan
Tony Liberatore
Will Minson


All Stars Squad List
Coach: Malcolm Blight
Captain: Chad Cornes
Adam Cooney
Adrian Fletcher
Alan Didak
Andrew Embley
Andrew Jarman
Andrew McLeod
Ash McGrath
Brent Staker
Brett Ebert
Brian Lake
Cameron Mooney
Chad Cornes
Daniel Motlop
Darryl White
Dean Brogan
Dennis Armfield
Lewis Roberts-Thompson
Mark Bickley
Nathan Bock
Paul Haselby
Paul Williams
Phil Matera
Richard Champion
Scott Thompson
Sean Wellman
Shaun McManus
Shaun Smith
Tony Modra
Troy Luff