on air now

Mark Knowles ‘shocked’ at The Don award nomination

Former Australian Field Hockey star Mark Knowles has admitted he is “shocked” after being nominated for The Don award.

The prestigious award named after cricket great Don Bradman recognises the sporting achievement of the year which has inspired the people of Australia.

The star studded field of nominees includes Kurt Fearnley, Ellyse Perry, Sam Kerr, Daniel Ricciardo, Madison de Rozario, Will Power and para-triathlete Lauren Parker.

The recently retired athlete said he was “honoured” after being nominated.

“Absolutely honoured to tell the truth,” Knowles said.

“It’s one of those things that you’ve seen in your journey.

“I’ve been watching and supporting high-performance sport for a long time and The Don is one of those awards that you never think that you’ll be put up for.

“So when I got the call last week, it was a shock I must admit.

“Being a recently retired athlete – you think most of these great moments in your sporting life are done – but to be put in this field with this group of athletes and just to be recognised as a finalist is something very special.”

First established in 1998, the likes of Steve Bradbury, Shane Warne and Cathy Freeman are just some of the famous athletes to have received the award.

Knowles won gold with the Kookaburras in the 2004 Athens Olympics, while in his 325th and final match of his International career, he led the national side to gold in the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast.


Listen to the full interview below: