on air now

Warriors star Roger Tuivasa-Sheck wins 2018 Dally M Medal

New Zealand Warriors superstar Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has won the 2018 Dally M Medal.

The Kiwi was a hot favourite for the award and did not disappoint finishing on 29 points, two ahead of Newcastle’s Kalyn Ponga and a further point ahead of Wests Tigers Luke Brooks.

It’s been a stellar season for the 25-year-old who led the Warriors around the park to a top eight finish in 2018.

There were emotional scenes at the event as fellow Kiwis Issac Luke, Jordan Rapana and Jazz Tevaga performed a rendition of the New Zealand ‘Haka’ almost bringing Tuivasa-Sheck to tears on stage.

“Wow, this is crazy,” Tuivasa-Sheck said.

“I remember the first time I came to these awards in 2013 and Cooper Cronk won the Dally M award and I was sitting there thinking ‘Man, it would be a dream to win this award’.

“And not knowing that day was even real or that day would ever come, so just feeling truly blessed to be up here holding this trophy and wearing this medal.”

Tuivasa-Sheck went on to thank his family, partner, club, teammates and coaching staff for getting him into the position he is in today.

The Warriors fullback averaged 167 metres and 15 runs a game to go with 10 try assists for the season.

See below for the full list of awards.

Dally M Team of the Year:

Fullback: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand Warriors)

Winger: Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)

Centre: Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)

Five-Eighth: Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

Halfback: Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)

Prop: Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks)

Hooker: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Second-Row: Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Lock: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Interchange player: Jazz Tevaga (New Zealand Warriors)

Captain: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Coach: Anthony Seibold (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Female Player of the Year: Brittany Breayley (Brisbane Broncos)

Top Try-Scorer: David Fusitu’a (New Zealand Warriors)

Top Point-Scorer: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Ken Stephen Medal: Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)

Provan Summons award: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Holden Women’s State of Origin